FNCPA » About FNCPA » History

Established in 1993

The First Nations Chiefs of Police Association (FNCPA) was established as a not-for-profit organization on January 7, 1993. The purpose of the FNCPA is to serve First Nations police services and First Nations territories across Canada by facilitating the highest level of professionalism and accountability, in a manner that reflects the unique cultures, constitutional status, social circumstances, traditions and aspirations of First Nations.

Formal recognition from the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) was received in 1993. The FNCPA is also formally recognized by the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CACP). The FNCPA now has representation on the CACP Board of Directors.

The FNCPA operates with funding from the federal government. Some revenues are raised through membership fees and the FNCPA’s annual conference. The FNCPA has also received project funding to develop and provide training and various information and communications materials to member services.

The Executive Committee continues to participate on a First Nations Chiefs of Police Association/Aboriginal Policing Directorate Coordination Committee. This liaison committee has formulated a solid working relationship with members of the office of the Solicitor General Canada to explore ways and means for improving First Nations Policing across Canada. The coordination committee meets on a quarterly basis.

FNCPA is a non-for-profit status organization.

Visual Identity

Left: original logo

Right: redesigned logo Fall 2017